Hei Oslo! | One week in Norway

Advertisement | I’ve never been so far north in Europe. In general I prefer the warmth over the cold and I am such a sun/light-addict which is the reason why I usually travel south or far away – although I heard so many good things about Scandinavian countries already. Now I took the opportunity to stay in Oslo for one week and I want to share my experiences with you in this blog post.

Oslo City Guide

View from the Opera House Rooftop in Oslo

First I want to say some words to Oslos reputation and Norway in general. According to the world ranking Oslo is one of the most expensive cities of the world – depending on the ranking sometimes Oslo even ranks on place 1. One cup of coffee easily costs you 50 NOK (about 5€). But of course it always depends where and how you are travelling and how you spend your travels.

Oslo Streets

Food – cooking yourself saves money

If you have the opportunity to cook yourself I would recommend taking it (at least sometimes). In comparison to Germany the prices in the supermarket are still higher but compared to eating out in a restaurant cooking yourself will still save you a lot of money. The cheapest supermarkets are Rema 1000 and Kiwi – but keep your eyes peeled for little international supermarkets since they often offer fruits and vegetables at a lower price.

During my stay in Oslo I usually made porridge for breakfast, ate in a restaurant or café for lunch or just had a snack and in the evening I cooked for my boyfriend and myself. Our base was rice and then we made different meals with it like rice with tofu bolognese, a one-pot meal with rice and veggies but also wraps filled with tomato rice, beans, corn and avocado – of course all of it served with some spinach. To sum it up I ate pretty good while staying in Oslo.

Eating out – Vegan in Oslo

For those of you who want to eat out – you will be able to find some vegan spots in Oslo or at least places which offer vegan food, too. They also serve oat milk almost everywhere so a cup of coffee will be available!

Oslo Funky Fresh Foods

Funky Fresh Foods in Oslo

A good address to eat at is ‘Funky Fresh Foods‘. Besides delicious juices, shakes and warm beverages they also serve savory dishes like wraps, burgers and salads. I went for the Funky Fresh Salat which I can really recommend – many different ingredients and a delicious dressing made an awesome meal. With that I had a raw pressed juice. Around lunch time you have to order at the counter, for dinner they will serve you at the table.

Oslo vegan

Funky Fresh Salad im Funky Fresh Foods

Want a cup of coffee and a nice slice of cake? Then you will be loving ‘Oslo Raw‘. They offer a large variety of lattes (matcha latte, golden milk latte, hot chocolate maca latte,…) and different kinds of raw cakes . if you want something savory they can treat you with a raw salad or a raw pizza. Everything is raw vegan, healthy and super delicious. The café itself is really cute as well – I can really recommend a visit here.

Oslo Raw

I went for the ‘Raw Salad’ and the ‘Raw Pizza’ – both served with a really delicious green and red paste and avocado. My boyfriend also really liked both. In addition I had the ‘Iced Nutella Shake’, a Chai Latte (super spiced and delish!) and a piece of raw cake ‘Triple Mocca Slice’. Definitely go and try it – it tastes heavenly!

Oslo Raw

Raw Salad, Raw Pizza, Iced Nutella Shake, Raw Tripple Mocca Slice and Cappuccino

Of course there are more restaurants/cafés which offer vegan food and cake. I couldn’t visit them all but here’s a little list for you as orientation:

  • Habibi Restaurant
  • The Fragnance of the Heart
  • Nordvegan
  • Vegan Loving Hut
  • and many more!

Oslo

Means of transport in Oslo

From the airport to the city

I landed at the airport Oslo Gardamoen (OSL). From there you can take the bus (Flybussen) to the city. The ride will take about 35-50 minutes. Tickets can be bought at the ticket center or in the bus itself. For those of you who want to save some money: you should buy the tickets at the ticket center or online – in the bus they will charge you an extra fee of 20 NOK per person.

Traveling in the city

In Oslo public transport is easy and convenient to use. There are busses, trams and trains – the ferries also are included in the public transport network of Ruter. With a ticket you can use all the transportation vehicles mentioned – a regular 1-zone-ticket (35 NOK) is valid for about 60 minutes and you can switch the transportation vehicle as many times as you want in this time frame. Same as mentioned above you should purchase the ticket at a kiosk or (even more convenient in my opinion) through the app of Ruter. Otherwise you will be charged a fee of 20 NOK. This fee is common in Oslo and tries to prevent unnecessary delays due to people buying tickets in the bus. Very smart in my opinion!

If you spend a few more days in Oslo you might want to consider to purchase a ticket for a whole day or even one for a whole week.

Oslo Verkehrsmittel

Getting to know Oslo by bike

Oslo is very bicycle-friendly – no matter where you go there are bicycle paths everywhere. Also there aus the Oslo City Bike. You can rent a bicycle anywhere in the city and leave it at special stations. For only 49 NOK (about 5€) you can get a day pass. With a day pass you can take a bike for 45 minutes and return it afterwards at any other station. This can be repeated the whole day and you can use it to travel in the city and visit some sightseeing spots or parks.

Oslo

What Oslo can offer

Oslo has a lot offer. Besides a gorgeous view on the Oslo fjord it offers culture, parks and even swimming or (if you visit in the right season) skiing opportunities. One very pretty district of the city is called ‘Grünerløkka‘. Here you can find little cute cafés, boutiques and more – definitely one of the highlights when it comes to city districts in Oslo.

Oslo Birkelunden

View from Birkelunden to the Paulus church

Museum in Oslo

In Oslo you have the possibility to visit one of many museums. Especially on the peninsula Bygdøy there are many of them: Vikingers-Museum, Fram Museum (the Polar Boat Fram), das Norwegian Maritim Museum, Norwegian Open-Air Museum, the Kon-Tiki Museum und the Holocaust-center.

Oslo Vikings Museum

I personally visited the Vikingskipshuset (the Viking Ship Museum) but as mentioned there are many to choose from. At some museums you even get free entry on thursdays – looking that up can therefore save you some money.

Parks

Botanischer Garten Oslo

Botanical Garden Oslo

There are many parks in Oslo to visit. I really like the Botanical Garden in Tøyen (which is by the way the oldest Botanical Garden in Norway) but the Ekeberg Park at the fjord is very pretty, too. From there you have a great view over the city but also the fjord and you can see some sculptures along the park as well.

Oslo Ekeberg Parken

In Ekeberg Park with ‘The Walking Woman’

Oslo Fjord

View on the Fjord from Ekeberg Park

Other than that the Frogner Park is one of the prettiest parks in Oslo and the biggest parks in the center of the city.

Sightseeing

If you are looking for sightseeing spots in Oslo you will have to visit the Opera House which is quite close to  central station.  The great thing: you can walk up to the rooftop for free which will allow you a great view on the fjord of Oslo – worth a visit for sure!

Oslo Opera House

Oslo Opera House

Besides that Oslo has more sightseeing spots where the official visitor website can give you detailed information.

Tips on saving money

As Oslo is an expensive city here is a little money saving tips summary if you are traveling on a budget:

  • More walking – less driving. I personally like to get to know a city by foot because I think it gives you a better feeling for the city and a better orientation, too. Also you might be able to discover some cute places or cafés while walking around.
  • Cook for yourself. In comparison to eating out you will be able to save a lot of money and you can choose ingredients for your meal according to the prices.
  • Make use of free attractions. For parks like the Botanical Gardens, the Ekeberg Park or the Frogner Park you don’t have to pay any entry fee. Also some museums offer free entry on Thursdays. With the ticket for the Viking Ship Museum you can also get free access to the Cultural History Museum within 48 hours.
  • Bring cosmetic products with you. To save money you should bring all products like tooth paste, shower shampoo, etc with you as these products are quite expensive in Oslo.

Oslo Ekeberg Park

To put it all in a nutshell I would say that Oslo is really worth a visit! You don’t only have the opportunity to get to know the city but also get out in nature very quickly and do some hikes in and around Oslo. I will definitely visit other Scandinavian countries too, next will be Sweden I guess.

If you want to share any additional experiences or tips feel free to share them in the comments down below!

Oslo House

Follow:

Hinterlasse einen Kommentar

  Subscribe  
Notify of

Instagram

24   224
121   838
42   799
26   313
61   1254

Hei Oslo! | Eine Woche in Norwegen

*Werbung | So weit im nördlichen Europa war ich noch nie. Generell bin ich jemand, der die Wärme der Kälte vorzieht und auch sehr lichtabhängig ist, deshalb ging es für mich bisher immer mehr in den Süden oder weiter weg – dabei habe ich schon so viel Gutes über Skandinavien gehört. Nun habe ich die Gelegenheit genutzt, um eine Woche in Oslo zu verbringen und möchte hier meine Eindrücke teilen.

Oslo City Guide

Blick vom Opera House in Oslo

Zunächst einmal sollte vielleicht etwas zu dem Ruf von Oslo bzw. Norwegen generell gesagt werden. Laut Weltrangliste gehört Oslo zu den teuersten Städten der Welt – je nach Liste landet Oslo teilweise sogar auf Platz 1. Für eine Tasse Kaffee zahlt man hier gut und gerne seine 5€. Allerdings kommt es natürlich auch immer darauf an, wo man unterwegs ist, wie man die Verpflegung gestaltet und wie man seine Reise gestaltet.

Oslo Streets

Verpflegung – selbst kochen spart Geld

Wer die Möglichkeit hat, selbst zu kochen, der kann sich damit einiges an Geld sparen. Zwar sind die Preise in den Supermärkten im Vergleich zu Deutschland höher, allerdings ist es im Vergleich zu Essen gehen immer noch günstig(er). Die billigsten Supermärkte sind Rema 1000 und Kiwi – man sollte stets auch die Augen nach kleinen internationalen Supermärkten offen halten, da es hier das Obst und Gemüse meist günstiger gibt.

Während meiner Zeit in Oslo habe ich mir zum Frühstück meist Porridge gekocht, Mittags in einem Restaurant/ Café gegessen oder einfach eine Kleinigkeit und abends dann wieder selbst gekocht – oft gab es einen Reis-‚Onepot‘ mit Reis, Gemüse, Bohnen, Tomatensoße und Gewürzen, aber auch Wraps mit Kidneybohnen, Mais, Tomatenreis und Avocado oder auch mal eine Tofubolognese – dazu natürlich immer etwas Spinat. Alles in allem habe ich in meiner Zeit in Oslo wirklich gut gegessen.

Essen gehen – Vegan in Oslo

Wer doch ab und zu essen gehen will, der kann in Oslo auch vegane Optionen finden (es gibt hier beinahe überall Hafermilch, die Tasse Kaffee ist also gesichert).

Oslo Funky Fresh Foods

Funky Fresh Foods in Oslo

Eine gute Adresse ist beispielsweise das ‚Funky Fresh Foods‚. Hier gibt es neben leckeren Säften, Shakes und warmen Getränken auch herzhafte Speisen wie Wraps, Burger, Salate oder Ähnliches. Alles ist hier vegan und frisch und sieht super lecker aus. Ich hatte hier den Funky Fresh Salat, der sehr zu empfehlen ist – viele verschiedene Zutaten und ein leckeres Dressing ergaben ein tolles Gericht. Dazu gab es für mich einen frischgepressten Saft. Mittags bestellt man selbst am Tresen, kommt man abends dann erfolgt die Bestellung am Tisch.

Oslo vegan

Funky Fresh Salad im Funky Fresh Foods

Eine Tasse Kaffee und ein Stück Kuchen gefällig? Dann seid ihr bei ‚Oslo Raw‚ an der richtigen Adresse. Hier gibt es eine große Auswahl an Lattes (Matcha Latte, Golden Milk Latte, Hot Chocolate Maca Latte, …) und jede Menge ‚Raw Cakes‘ – soll es lieber etwas Herzhaftes sein, gibt es hier einen Salat und eine Pizza. Alles rohvegan und super lecker! Das Café an sich ist auch sehr hübsch und liebevoll eingerichtet – ein Besuch lohnt sich also.

Oslo Raw

Hier habe ich sowohl den ‚Raw Salad‘ und die ‚Raw Pizza‘ probiert – beide serviert mit einer super leckeren grünen und roten Creme und Avocado. Meinem Freund hat es auch total geschmeckt. Dazu gab es den ‚Iced Nutella Shake‘, einen Chai Latte (super würzig und lecker!) und ein Stück rohen Kuchen ‚Triple Mocca Slice‘. Hält was der Name verspricht – einfach göttlich!

Oslo Raw

Raw Salad, Raw Pizza, Iced Nutella Shake, Raw Tripple Mocca Slice und Cappuccino

Es gibt natürlich auch noch andere Restaurants/Cafés, die vegane Gerichte und Kuchen anbieten. Ich konnte sie leider nicht alle besuchen, hier ist aber eine kleine Liste als Orientierung:

  • Habibi Restaurant
  • The Fragnance of the Heart
  • Nordvegan
  • Vegan Loving Hut
  • und viele mehr!

Oslo

Verkehrsmittel in Oslo

Vom Flughafen in die Stadt

Ich bin am Flughafen Oslo Gardamoen (OSL) gelandet. Dort gibt es mehrere Busse (Flybussen), die in die Stadt fahren (ca. 35-50 Minuten Fahrt). Tickets kann man sich am Schalter oder im Bus kaufen. Wer etwas sparen möchte, der kauft seine Tickets jedoch lieber online oder am Schalter, ansonsten wird ein Zuschlag von 20 NOK pro Person fällig.

In der Stadt bewegen

In Oslo kann man sich super mit den öffentlichen Verkehrsmitteln bewegen. Es gibt Busse, Straßenbahnen und mehrere S- bzw. U-Bahn-Linien, außerdem gehören die Fähren auch zum Netz von Ruter. Mit einem Ticket kann man jegliches Verkehrsmittel in Oslo nutzen – ein reguläres Zone-1-Ticket (35 NOK) gilt 60 Minuten und in dieser Zeit kann man so oft man will umsteigen. Auch hier sollte man sich ein Ticket am Kiosk (oder meiner Meinung nach noch einfacher) über die App kaufen. Ansonsten wie oben schon erwähnt der Zuschlag von 20 NOK. Dieser Zuschlag ist in Oslo Gang und Gebe um unnötige Verspätungen/Verzögerung durch Ticketkauf im Bus/Bahn zu vermeiden. Finde ich persönlich sehr schlau!

Wer ein paar Tage länger hier ist, der kann sich überlegen ob sich nicht vielleicht ein Tagesticket oder sogar ein Wochen-Ticket lohnt.

Oslo Verkehrsmittel

Mit dem Fahrrad unterwegs

Oslo ist eine sehr fahrradfreundliche Stadt – egal wohin man geht, überall gibt es Fahrradwege. Außerdem gibt es das Oslo City Bike. Man kann sich Fahrräder überall in der Stadt ausleihen und wieder abgeben. Für nur 49 NOK (ungefähr 5€) bekommt man ein Tagesticket. Damit kann man sich über die App ein Fahrrad ausleihen, für 45 Minuten verwenden und dann wieder abgeben. Über den ganzen Tag kann man dieses Ticket dann für 45 Minuten-Fahrten nutzen. So kommt man in der Stadt voran und kann zwischendurch auch ein paar Sehenswürdigkeiten abklappern.

Oslo

Was Oslo zu bieten hat

Oslo hält einiges für seine Besucher bereit. Neben dem Ausblick auf den wunderschönen Oslofjord gibt es reichlich Angebot für Kultur, Parks oder auch Bade- bzw. (je nach Wetterlage) Skimöglichkeiten. Ein besonders schönes Viertel ist der ‚Grünerløkka‚ Bezirk. Hier tummeln sich kleine, süße Cafés, Boutiquen und mehr – definitiv mein Highlight was Stadtviertel in Oslo angeht.

Oslo Birkelunden

Blick von Birkelunden auf die Paulus Kirche

Museen

In Oslo ist Museums-technisch einiges geboten. Besonders auf der Halbinsel Bygdøy wimmelt es nur so von Museen: Wikingerschiff-Museum, Fram Museum (das Polarschiff Fram), das norwegische Seefahrtsmuseum, norwegisches Freilichtmuseum, das Kon-Tiki Museum und das Holocaust-Zentrum.

Oslo Vikings Museum

Ich selbst war nur im Wikingermuseum, es gibt aber auch sonst in der Stadt noch einige Museen und Donnerstags ist sogar bei manchen der Eintritt frei – nachlesen lohnt sich also.

Parks

Botanischer Garten Oslo

Botanischer Garten Oslo

Auch Parks gibt es reichlich in Oslo. Besonders schön finde ich persönlich den Botanischen Garten in Tøyen (übrigens Norwegens ältester botanischer Garten), aber auch der Ekeberg Park am Fjord ist sehr schön. Von dort hat man einen tollen Ausblick über die Stadt und den Fjord und es gibt außerdem noch Skulpturen entlang des Parks zu sehen.

Oslo Ekeberg Parken

Im Ekeberg Park mit ‚The Walking Woman‘

Oslo Fjord

Blick auf den Fjord vom Ekeberg Park

Ansonsten gehört der Frogner Park mit zu den schönsten Parks von Oslo und ist auch der größte Park in der Stadt.

Sehenswürdigkeiten

Wer nach Sehenswürdigkeiten Ausschau hält, der wird am Opernhaus nicht vorbeikommen, das sich relativ nahe an der Central Station befindet. Das Tolle: hier kann man kostenlos einen Spaziergang auf das Dach machen und den Ausblick auf den Fjord von Oslo genießen – das ist es definitiv wert!

Oslo Opera House

Auch ansonsten hat Oslo natürlich mehr Sehenswürdigkeiten, die offizielle Besucherwebsite von Oslo ist da sehr informativ.

Spar-Tipps

Da Oslo ja doch zu den teureren Städten gehört, hier nochmal ein paar Tipps zusammengefasst, falls man mit Budget reist:

  • Mehr gehen – weniger fahren. Ich persönlich erkunde eine Stadt sowieso lieber zu Fuß, da ich so ein besseres Gefühl für die Stadt und die Umgebung bekomme. Außerdem entdeckt man so auch schöne Plätze oder Cafés.
  • Selbst kochen. Damit spart man sich im Vergleich zum Essen gehen auf jeden Fall einiges und kann sich die Zutaten selbst nach Preis aussuchen.
  • Freie Attraktionen nutzen. Für Parks wie den Botanischen Garten, Ekeberg Park oder Frogner Park muss man beispielsweise kein Eintritt zahlen. Auch bieten manche Museen Donnerstags einen freien Eintritt an. Mit dem Ticket für das Vikingermuseum kommt man außerdem innerhalb von 48 Stunden kostenfrei ins das kulturhistorische Museum.
  • Drogerie-Artikel selbst mitbringen. Wer sich Geld sparen möchte, der sorgt am besten dafür, dass er ausreichend Zahnpasta, Duschgel, etc. mitbringt. Das kostet in Oslo nämlich oft viel mehr als zuhause.

Oslo Ekeberg Park

Alles in allem hatte ich eine super Zeit in Oslo und würde sagen, dass die Stadt auf jeden Fall einen Besuch wert ist! Man hat nicht nur die Stadt an sich, sondern auch super viele Möglichkeiten zu wandern oder in die Natur zu kommen – und all das ist gut zu Fuß oder relativ schnell mit den öffentlichen Verkehrsmitteln zu erreichen. Ich werde definitiv noch andere Länder in Skandinavien besuchen, ich denke als Nächstes steht Schweden auf der Liste.

Falls ihr noch Erfahrungen oder Tipps habt, teilt sie gerne in den Kommentaren!

Oslo House

Folge:

Hinterlasse einen Kommentar

  Abonnieren  
Benachrichtige mich bei

Instagram

23   222
121   838
42   799
26   313
61   1254