Lunch box No. 1: Sandwich with baked tofu

Not in the mood for the bad food at your local canteen or work? The alternative is mealprep. This maybe sounds like a lot of effort but actually it doesn’t have to be really time consuming or complicated. This sandwich with crispy baked tofu is perfectly delicious and not a lot of work either!

Sandwich mit gebackenem Tofu

I don’t know how you guys feel about this but I am this person who always brings their own lunch boxes rather than grabbing a roll at the next bakery or ordering fast food. Of course I do enjoy to eat out with friends or if someone cooks for me. But as a student I am on a budget and just can’t afford to eat out all the time. Preparing your own lunch box can therefore not only be the healthier alternative but also save a lot of money.

Veganes Sandwich

In the weeks before my exams from uni I often shared my meal prep in my story on Instagram and you guys really seemed to like this – this is why I decided to bring this topic up on my blog as well. When I have to study a lot (like 10 hours a day) I prefer going to the library. Although it’s only a 10-15 minute walk from where I live I don’t want to stress myself to run home, quickly eat something and run back to the library. This is the reason why I often prepare something to take with me the day before or in the morning. In this way I have a good lunch box prepared and enough fuel for my body to be able to concentrate and study effectively.

Veganes Tofu Sandwich

General Meal Prep Tips

  1. Get the right box: preparing your own lunch boy of course means that you should get yourself a good lunch box. If in doubt, definitely go for a bigger size. You don’t want to end up hungry in the office, right?!
  2. Plan ahead: if you don’t plan what you want to eat the next day you will probably fail at preparing something. So take the time to think about the next day and what you actually want to have in your lunch box.
  3. Make something delicious: Sounds intuitive but somethings people forget about it. Prepare yourself a lunch box you look forward to eating – when you’re on the go temptations are usually big with all the bakeries, fast food restaurants, etc. so you should be so excited about your own lunch that there is no need for you to buy something instead.
  4. Change things up: if you found a delicious meal to take-away with you that is great! However, make sure to change things up and try to find a few lunch box recipe which you really like so that you can vary your lunch box and don’t get bored.

This sandwich can be prepared the day before already and there is nothing between you and a relaxed morning. Just marinade and bake the tofu in the evening, assemble the sandwich (or do it the next morning) and you’re good to go.

For this sandwich I can recommend using firm tofu. Those of you who already have tofu experience will know that tofu tends to get softer when heated. You want your tofu to get nice and crispy on the outside so using firm tofu can help to achieve this. However, the result will be delicious both ways.

The highlight of the sandwich is the tofu marinade!

The marinade of the tofu is probably the most important part of this recipe as it makes the sandwich special. I used peanut flour – if you can, try to get your hands on this. It has way less fat than peanut butter and can be used for all kind of sweet and savory dishes. If you are not able to find it, don’t worry though! You can also use peanut butter in this recipe. It will work and taste good, too!

The tofu turns out…

  • crispy on the outside
  • super flavorful and delicious
  • perfect for the sandwich or also chopped up in a salad

Lunchbox Sandwich

Sandwich layers

Of course you can get as creative as you want with the sandwich layers and adjust the recipe to your personal preferences. I personally love the combination of baked tofu, some lettuce, mashed avocado and hummus.

Tomatoes also go really well with this. If you don’t enjoy hummus or avocado that much you can use some kind of vegan spread. The options are endless.

Veganes Sandwich mit Tofu

I think this was enough said – go and give this recipe a try and leave me a comment down below! 🙂

PS: if you post a picture of your recreation on instagram make sure to tag @sheloveseating so I don’t miss it!

Baked Tofu Sandwich

Author Tanith Schmelzeisen

Ingredients

For the tofu

  • 200 g tofu
  • 2 heaped tbs peanut flour (or peanut butter*)
  • 1 1/2 tbs soy sauce
  • 1 tbs almond butter or tahin
  • a bit of soy milk

Other ingredients

  • bread/ sandwich slices of your choice
  • 1/2 avocado
  • 100 g hummus
  • lettuce
  • 1 bell pepper, onion,...

Instructions

  • Preheat the oven to 200°C. 
  • Remove the tofu packaging, set the tofu in between of two paper towels and gently press down to remove excess water. Afterwards slice the tofu block in four thin (equally thick) slices.
  • For the marinade mix the above listed ingredients in a bowl (make sure it gets not too liquid!), dip the tofu slices in it to cover them well and place them on a baking tray lined with parchment paper afterwards. 
  • Bake for approx. 20 minutes until golden and crispy then remove from the oven and let the slices cool down. 
  • When you're ready layer them with lettuce, hummus, mashed avocado and bell pepper (also onion if you like) between two bread slices and you're good to go!

Notes

* if you use peanut butter add 1 tbs of wholegrain spelt flour or oat flour in addition to the peanut butter. 
0 0 vote
Article Rating
Follow:
Subscribe
Notify of
1 Comment
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

[…] doch lieber etwas anderes als einen Sommersalat ausprobieren möchte, dem kann ich meinen gebackenen Tofu nur empfehlen – super knusprig und […]

Instagram

21   503
16   270
125   575
22   471
33   466

Lunchbox No. 1: Sandwich mit gebackenem Tofu

Keine Lust auf das schlechte Essen in der Mensa/ auf der Arbeit? Die Alternative heißt Selbermachen. Und das muss auch gar nicht anstrengend oder kompliziert sein, sondern kann auch ganz schnell gehen. Dieses Sandwich mit gebackenem Tofu ist sehr wenig Aufwand und dafür ein großer Genuss!

Sandwich mit gebackenem Tofu

Ich weiß nicht wie es euch geht, aber ich bin definitiv einer der Personen, die am liebsten ihr eigenes Essen mitbringt. Natürlich gehe ich genauso gerne Essen und genieße es, wenn für mich gekocht wird. Aber als Studentin und auf Dauer wird das auch einfach zu teuer. Sein eigenes Mittagessen mitzunehmen kann daher nicht nur die gesündere Alternative sein, sondern auch jede Menge Geld sparen.

Veganes Sandwich

In meiner Klausurenphase an der Uni habe ich auf Instagram in meiner Story häufig verschiedene Ideen für Lunchboxen gezeigt – das kam so gut an, dass ich das Ganze jetzt auch auf meinen Blog bringen wollte. Wenn viel zu lernen ist, gehe ich meistens in die Bibliothek. Ich wohne zwar nicht so weit von ihr entfernt, möchte mir aber mittags nicht den Stress auferlegen schnell nach Hause zu gehen, etwas zu essen und wieder loszugehen. Deshalb bereite ich oft etwas am Vorabend oder am Morgen vor, dass ich einfach mitnehmen und unterwegs bzw. in meiner Mittagspause essen kann.

Veganes Tofu Sandwich

Ein paar generelle Tipps zum Thema ‚Mealpep‘

  1. Die richtige Lunchbox: wenn ihr euer Essen mitnehmen wollt, braucht ihr dazu natürlich die richtige Box. Im Zweifel, nehmt lieber eine Größere – ihr wollt schließlich nicht hungrig im Büro/der Uni sitzen, oder?! Ich verlinke euch unten mal meine Lunchboxen, nachdem ich danach schon öfter gefragt wurde.
  2. Im Voraus planen: wenn man sich nicht am Tag davor (oder am Besten schon am Wochenende davor) Gedanken macht, was man gerne zum Essen mitnehmen würde, dann wird es vermutlich schwierig. Nehmt euch also unbedingt die Zeit um euch zu überlegen, was ihr gerne essen würdet.
  3. Etwas leckeres vorbereiten: Das hört sich natürlich erstmal intuitiv and aber manchmal vergisst man das. Bereitet euch etwas vor, durch das ihr euch richtig auf eure Lunchbox freut – wenn ihr nämlich unterwegs seid, wird es jede Menge Versuchungen wie Bäckereien oder Fast Food Ketten geben. Wenn ihr euch auf euer Essen freut, dann besteht auch keine Versuchung, doch etwas zu kaufen.
  4. Abwechslung: wenn ihr etwas gefunden habt, dass ihr gerne zum Essen mitnehmt – fantastisch! Ihr solltet euch jedoch am besten eine paar mehr Gerichte aneignen und ausprobieren, die ihr gerne mögt. So vermeidet ihr, dass ihr irgendwann keine Lust mehr auf eure Lunchbox habt.

Meine Lunchboxen**:

Dieses Sandwich kann man schon am Vorabend vorbereiten und einem entspannten Morgen steht nichts mehr im Wege. Abends einfach schnell den Tofu marinieren und backen und ggf. auch schon das Brot belegen – das kann man natürlich aber auch ganz frisch morgens machen.

Für den gebackenen Tofu empfiehlt es sich, einen etwas festeren Tofu zu nehmen. Wer Tofu-Erfahrung hat der weiß, dass manche beim erhitzen eher weicher werden. Ein solcher Tofu sollte eher vermieden werden – das sollte einen aber jetzt nicht davon abhalten, das Rezept auszuprobieren. Es schmeckt so oder so lecker!

Das Sandwich wird erst besonders gut durch die Marinade!

Die Marinade ist wohl das Wichtigste an diesem Rezept, denn sie macht das Sandwich erst richtig genial. Ich habe hier Erdnussmehl verwendet – das gibt es allerdings nicht überall zu kaufen. Es ist eine fettfreiere Variante zu Erdnussmus und man kann damit sehr kreativ werden. Allerdings kann man es auch einfach durch Erdnussmus ersetzen. Das funktioniert genauso gut!

Der Tofu wird durch die Mariande…

  • knusprig auf der Außenseite
  • super aromatisch und lecker
  • ideal für das Sandwich oder auch als Zusatz im Salat

Lunchbox Sandwich

Sandwich Beläge

Bei den Sandwich-Belägen könnt ihr natürlich so kreativ werden wie ihr wollt und verwenden, was euch schmeckt. Ich persönlich finde die Kombination aus dem gebackenen Tofu, etwas Salat, Avocado und Hummus einfach unschlagbar.

Tomaten schmecken sicher auch super dazu. Anstatt Hummus kann man auch eine andere Art von Aufstrich verwenden, da ist die vegane Auswahl ja recht groß.

Veganes Sandwich mit Tofu

Veganes Sandwich mit Erdnuss-Tofu

Ich denke das reicht jetzt auch der vielen Worte – probiert es einfach mal aus und hinterlasst mir gerne einen Kommentar! 🙂

PS: wenn ihr ein Bild auf Instagram postet taggt mich mit @sheloveseating damit ich es nicht verpasse!

** enthält Affiliate-Links

Veganes Sandwich mit knusprigem Tofu

Portionen 4 Sandwiches
Autor Tanith Schmelzeisen

Zutaten

Für den Tofu

  • 200 g Tofu
  • 2 gehäufte EL Erdnussmehl oder Erdnussmus*
  • 1 1/2 EL Sojasoße
  • 1 EL Mandelmus oder Tahin
  • ein Schluck Sojamilch oder Wasser

Sonstige Zutaten

  • Brote oder Brötchen
  • 1/2 Avocado
  • 100 g Hummus
  • Kopfsalat
  • 1 Paprika

Anleitungen

  • Den Ofen auf 200°C (Ober- und Unterhitze) vorheizen. 
  • Den Tofu aus der Verpackung nehmen, in ein Küchentuch legen und kurz ausdrücken, damit überschüssige Flüssigkeit entweicht. Anschließend längs in vier dünne Scheiben.
  • Für die Marinade einfach alle oben genannten Zutaten vermengen und die Tofu-Scheiben anschließend darin wenden und auf ein mit Backpapier ausgelegtes Backblech legen.
  • Für ca. 20 Minuten im Ofen backen, bis die Tofu-Scheiben schön knusprig und goldbraun sind, anschließend abkühlen lassen.
  • Für das Sandwich dann einfach Salat, gebackenen Tofu, Hummus, Avocado und Paprika zwischen zwei Brotscheiben schichten.

Notizen

* wer Erdnussmus anstatt Erdnussmehl verwendet sollte zusätzlich 1 EL Dinkel(-vollkorn)- oder Hafermehl (gemahlene Haferflocken) verwenden.

0 0 vote
Article Rating
Folge:
Abonnieren
Benachrichtige mich bei
1 Kommentar
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

[…] doch lieber etwas anderes als einen Sommersalat ausprobieren möchte, dem kann ich meinen gebackenen Tofu nur empfehlen – super knusprig und […]

Instagram

27   364
47   575
19   400
26   550
47   776